Skip to product information
1 of 2


Various Artists
Disco Not Disco (Special Edition Transparent Yellow Vinyl 3LP)

Various Artists 'Disco Not Disco (Special Edition)'

Regular price €34,95 EUR
Regular price Sale price €34,95 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

Track Listing

A1 yoko ono – walking on thin ice (1981 re-edit)
A2 liquid liquid – cavern

B1 loose joints – tell you (today) (vocal)
B2 ian dury & the seven seas players – spasticus autisticus (version)

C1 material – over and over
C2 was (not was) – wheel me out

D1 dinosaur – kiss me again (original edit)
D2 don cherry – I walk

E1 common sense – voices inside my head
E2 nicky siano - move

F1 indian ocean – school bell / tree house
"Disco Not Disco’ preceded the punk funk revolution by two years.” Resident Advisor.
Strut introduces a new special edition repress of the influential first volume of ‘Disco Not Disco’, compiled by Dave Lee and Sean P, pressed on translucent yellow vinyl 3LP as part of the label’s 25th Anniversary.
‘Disco Not Disco’ was a perfectly timed compilation back in Released when interest in the myths, history and playlists of original New York clubs like Paradise Garage and The Loft was at its peak, the album drew on the outer limits of leftfield disco championed by Levan and Mancuso, bringing together unlikely dancefloor anthems by rock acts like Yoko Ono and Ian Dury, obscurities from cottage labels like BC and Splash and selected oddities from the unique mind of avant-garde hero, Arthur Russell. It was essentially a celebration of the sonic melting pot in New York during the early ‘80s, an era when punk had burnt itself out and disco had become commercial and saccharine; in its place, the post-punk movement threw up brilliant oddities which tore up the accepted rulebook.

Since its release, the compilation title has become a by-word for a whole genre of music and remains a landmark collection of its time. This new pressing is a welcome return for an essential celebration of disco’s difficult cousins. The album features full artwork and is pressed across 3 x Translucent Yellow Vinyl LP’s.


Translucent Yellow Vinyl 3LP


Released February 16, 2024
2024, Strut Records - a division of K7 Music GmbH

View full details