Skip to product information
1 of 2


Various Artists
Afro Rock Vol. 1

Various Artists 'Afro-Rock Volume 1'

Regular price €29,95 EUR
Regular price Sale price €29,95 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

Track Listing

A1 Jingo – Fever 6:42
A2 Geraldo Pino – Heavy, Heavy, Heavy 6:33
A3 Steele Beauttah – Africa 3:50

B1 Mercury Dance Band – Envy No Good 4:52
B2 Dackin Dackino – Yuda 12:06

C1 K. Frimpong & His Cubano Fiestas – Kyenkyen Bi Adi M'Awu 6:54
C2 Orchestra Lissanga – Okuzua 8:47

D1 Super Mambo 69 – Sweeper Soul 2:43
D2 Yahoos – Mabala 4:09
D3 Bokoor Band – Onupka Shawarpo 3:15
D4 Nkansah and Yaanom – Pem Dwe 4:45

Afro Rock Vol. 1’ is one of the most important compilations of heavy original ‘70s Afro funk and soul to be released in recent years. Originally surfacing on Duncan Brooker’s indie Kona label in early 2001, the album single-handedly kick-started the thirst among jazz, funk and soul fans and ‘diggers’ to rediscover lost music from Africa made during the ‘60s and ‘70s from a time when many countries were gaining independence and celebrating a Pan-African identity within their music.



Released January 1, 2010
2010, Strut Records - a division of K7 Music GmbH

View full details