Skip to product information
1 of 3


Regular price €23,95 EUR
Regular price Sale price €23,95 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

Track Listing

A1 We Be All Africans 6:09
A2 Epiphany 7:15
A3 Silent Days 6:04

B1 Rhapsody In Berlin 6:21
B2 Clarion Call 5:43
B3 Traponga 2:18
B4 Whispering Tenderness 3:49
We Be All Africans 6:09
Epiphany 7:15
Silent Days 6:04
Rhapsody In Berlin 6:21
Clarion Call 5:43
Traponga 2:18
Whispering Tenderness 3:49

Alto saxophonist Ackamoor first met Margo Simmons (flute) and Kimathi Asante (electric bass) whilst students together at Antioch College, Yellow Springs, Ohio where one of their teachers was renowned pianist, Cecil Taylor. After founding the band in Paris in 1972, performing in Holland and embarking on a “cultural odyssey” across Africa, the group recorded three independent albums (Lalibela in 1973, King Of Kings in 1974 and Birth / Speed / Merging in 1976) and became renowned for their striking live shows, mixing percussive, spiritual and space-age jazz with performance, theatre, and dance. After migrating to San Francisco to perform on the Bay Area arts scene, they disbanded in 1977 after a final show at the UC Berkeley Jazz Festival.

Almost 30 years later, The Pyramids reunited unexpectedly following growing demand for their music from vinyl collectors and jazz fans and embarked on the first of many European tours featuring original members, as well as a fresh line-up including renowned percussionist Kenneth Nash. In 2012 the group signed to German label Disko B who released a new album, the freeform Otherworldly and all three albums from their rare back catalogue. Idris was presented with a Lifetime Achievement Award by DJ Gilles Peterson at his Worldwide Awards and The Pyramids were back, gaining a whole new legion of fans.

" ‘We Be All Africans’ is a message of survival. A message of renewal. A message that we are all brothers and sisters. We are all one family, the human family and we need one another in order to survive on this planet that we all share." – Idris Ackamoor



Released May 27, 2016
2016, Strut Records - a division of K7 Music GmbH

View full details