Skip to product information
1 of 3


Regular price €23,95 EUR
Regular price Sale price €23,95 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

Track Listing

A1 Expand
A2 Prepare to let go
A3 Sounds welcome

B1 It's complicated
B2 What purpose

C1 Murmuration
C2 Bold dream
C3 My resonance

D1 How many are one
D2 Fully Breathed
1 Expand
2 Prepare to let go
3 Sounds welcome
4 It´s complicated
5 What purpose
6 Murmuration
7 Bold dream
8 My resonance
9 How many are one
10 Fully Breathed

Flock is a brand new collaboration between five leading musicians from London's open-minded jazz and experimental scenes: Bex Burch (Vula Viel), Sarathy Korwar, Dan “Danalogue” Leavers (Soccer96, The Comet Is Coming), Al MacSween (Maisha) and Tamar Osborn (Collocutor).

Gathering together at The Fish Factory in London Summer 2020, the approach was to try something fresh. “I wrote texts as scores for the session and the emphasis was on breathing and listening to each other,” explains Bex Burch. “Improvisation is composition in itself,” continues Burch, “so although the music was freely improvised, we sometimes chose to stay on form and rhythm, repeating melodies and groove. As Dan commented on the day, we ‘murmurated’. The expansive 13-minute piece ‘How Many Are One’ on the album is the perfect example, a collective following and leading as the music developed.”

Other tracks include the pulsing, searching opener ‘Expand’, the taught soundscape ‘Prepare To Let Go’ and the frenetic, urgent ‘Bold Dream’. At times widescreen and cinematic and at others more tense and claustrophobic, each Flock piece explores its own colour and mood.



released May 20, 2022

All pieces improvised by Bex Burch, Sarathy Korwar, Danalogue, Al MacSween and Tamar Osborn in response to texts by Bex Burch

Published by K7 Music Publishing, Metropolis, Bucks Music Group and BMG Music Publishing

Bex Burch: gyil, vibraphone, bass drum, shakers, bells, gong, snake drum, electronics
Sarathy Korwar: drums, tabla
Danalogue: fender rhodes, roland juno-60, upright piano, roland SH-09 bass synth
Al MacSween: prepared piano, piano, moog sub37
Tamar Osborn: bass clarinet, flute, soprano sax, EHX deluxe memory boy

Recorded on 27 August 2020 at The Fish Factory, London

Produced by Bex Burch

Recording engineer: Mattia Sartori
Recording assistant: Simone Gallizio
Mixed by Bex Burch and Alex Bonney

Executive producers: Tamar Osborn, Danalogue, Al MacSween, Sarathy Korwar, Quinton Scott

Mastered for vinyl by Peter Beckmann at Technology Works
LP cut by Frank Merritt at The Carvery

Artwork is based on an exclusive new illustration piece by Muhammad “Rofi” Fatchurofi.

View full details